Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consisting of 5 to 7 Directors governs the policies and strategic priorities of the Society and ensures the funding received is spent efficiently. The Board may control and direct the business of the Society and may, by resolution determine its own procedures. All members are appointed by the Minister of Justice. Applications to become a board member can be found here:

Amy Ryder

Nearly 20 years ago, Amy moved to Yukon from Alberta. Her career has been diverse–working in the not-for-profit, government and private sectors. She is trained in biology, regional land use planning and professional communication management. A common thread in all her positions has been a passion for understanding and integrating policy, legislation, and the Final Agreements into her day-to-day business. Amy has a deep commitment to ensuring all people have fair access to our administrative justice system and that her time on any board is served with professionalism and impartiality. Outside of work and volunteering, Amy finds great joy in spending time with her twin daughters, her giant dog, and outside birding.

Eric Hoogstraten

Member from November 2, 2022, to November 1, 2025

Katherine Mercier

Member from January 28, 2021, to January 27, 2024

Kyle Campbell-Clarke

Member from November 2, 2022, to November 1, 2025

Michael McBride

Member from January 26, 2023, to January 25, 2026

Eden Alexander

Eden joined the Yukon Legal Services Society Board of Directors in January of 2021. She is Counsel for Justice Canada in the Whitehorse Office, where she provides litigation and advisory services to federal ministries, departments, and entities. She has an enduring interest in reconciliation, equity and access to justice and sees the good governance of public institutions, such as Legal Aid, as integral to each. When not working and volunteering in the legal community, Eden can be found on a bike, in a harness, on skis, and/or being pulled by her dog Otis through remote parts of the Yukon.